Prez's medals to police, jail staff

KT NEWS SERVICE. Dated: 1/26/2021 9:52:05 PM

NEW DELHI, Jan 25: Rajasthan's jail warder Sukhdas Swamy was awarded the posthumous correctional service medal for gallantry on the eve of the Republic day while a dozen got the President's correctional service medal for distinguished service for the prison personnel, including Jail Superintendents Gopal Prasad Tamrakar and Ramesh Arya and deputy superintendent Mahavir Singh Rawat of Madhya Pradesh.
Another 39 jail personnel bagged the correctional service medal for meritorious service and they include Dilip Kumar Bhan, section officer and warder Iqbal Ahmed from J&K, warder Rampal Singh and head warders Ajay Bahadur Singh and Iqbal Ahmed, Hawaldars Uttam Gwade, Santosh Manchekar and Baban Namdev Khandare from Maharashtra, and Rajasthan's Superintendent Govind Singh, deputy jailor Ajeet Singh, and warder Chhotu Singh.
The President also conferred the Jeevan Raksha Padak series of awards on 40 persons, including a Sarvottam medal to Kerala's Muhammed Muhsin, posthumously, Uttam medals to eight, including Parmeshwar Nagargoje of Maharashtra, Ramshibhai Ratnabhai Samad (Rabari) from Gujarat and Himani Biswal from Madhya Pradesh while 31 were bestowed with the Jeevan Raksha Padak, seven of them from Gujarat, four from Madhya Pradesh and Anil Khule and Balasaheb Dnyandeo Nagargoje from Maharashtra.
The Jeevan Raksha medals are awarded to the persons for the meritorious act of human nature in saving the life of a person.
The Home Ministry also announced various medals to 946 police personnel across the country on the occasion of the Republic Day. These included the President's police medal for gallantry to two officers, police medal for gallantry to 207, President's police medal for distinguished service to 89 and 650 secured the police medal for meritorious services.
Among the 207 winners of the gallantry awards, 137 of them are from action in Jammu and Kashmir 24 in the left-wing extremism affected areas and one in the North East. Among them are 68 from CRPF, 52 from J&K Police, 20 from BSF, 17 from Delhi Police and 13 from Maharashtra.



Indian History... Read More



Daily horoscope