Sitting MP, 3 ex CMs, Srinagar Mayor, Dy Mayor among 25 ex MLAs detained in J&K

KT NEWS SERVICE. Dated: 8/19/2019 11:46:28 PM

SRINAGAR, Aug 19: Not just three former chief ministers and an IAS topper, the list of those detained in Jammu and Kashmir a fortnight into the J&K Reorganisation Bill 2019 included a former Union minister, seven former state ministers, the Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Srinagar, and a number of legislators.
While there are talks within the government on easing the security clampdown in the state after the abrogation of Article 370 on August 5, there is no official word yet on when the detained leaders will be released.
Those detained also include lawyers, businessmen, professors, members of the J&K Bar Association and civil society.
Some of the key political figures who have been detained included Three-time CM and former Union minister, Farooq Abdullah is president of the National Conference (NC), and Srinagar MP. Former CM Mehbooba Mufti is president of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). A former Parliamentarian, she was elected to the state assembly thrice. Former CM Omar Abdullah was a Union MoS in the A B Vajpayee-led NDA-1 government.
Close BJP ally, he once referred to Prime Minister Narendra Modi as his elder brother. Separatist-turned-mainstream leader, he heads the Peoples Conference. He was a minister in the PDP-BJP government and once seen as the BJP’s CM candidate.
Mayor of Srinagar, Mattu was projected by Governor Satya Pal Malik as the new face of Kashmiri politics. When the Prime Minister visited Kashmir, Mattu was given the honour of officially receiving him. He was recently diagnosed with a bone marrow disorder.: Bureaucrat-turned-politician, and first Kashmiri to top the IAS, Shah Faesal heads the Jammu Kashmir Peoples Movement, a mainstream party he formed after resigning from the civil services.
Waheed Parra who in 2018, when the PDP-BJP government’s popularity was at a low, he organised a sports show for Rajnath Singh in Srinagar, earning praise from the then Home Minister. He is youth president of PDP. President of the Pradesh Congress, GA Mir is a former MLA.
Saif Ud din Soz Former president of the Pradesh Congress, he is a former MP and Union minister in the UPA-1 government.
Naeem Akhtar, Ali Mohammad Sagar, Abdul Rahim Rather, Mohammad Shafi Uri, Ghulam Hassan Mir, Hakim Yasin, M Y Tarigami, Imran Ansari, Mubarak Gul, Khalida Shah, Mohammad Ashraf Mir, Ajaz Mir, Noor Mohammad Bhat, Khurshid Alam, Bashir Veeri, Syed Akhoon, Tanvir Sadiq and Sheikh Imran.
When asked how long the detentions will continue, and what the future of these politicians are, Minister of State (PMO) Jitendra Singh told Agencies at the Idea Exchange event: “Actually I don’t see any future for them. They are also realising that their political innings has come to an end. It is only some section of the media that wants to see some future, so that the story can carry on. The story has ended.”



Indian History... Read More



Daily horoscope